Gilbertson: Concerto for Chamber Orchestra (World Premiere)

Stamitz: Viola Concerto in D Major
Juan-Miguel Hernandez, viola

Haydn: Symphony No.104, “London”

We welcome the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra’s new Broadcast Music Foundation Composer-in-Residence, Michael Gilbertson, whose award-winning music has been described as “elegant” and “particularly beautiful” by the New York Times and “genuinely moving” by the Washington Post. His Concerto for Chamber Orchestra is the first of three commissioned works planned for Gilbertson’s three-year residency in San Francisco. Our season ends with Haydn’s final symphony, which premiered to great great acclaim in 1795 in London. It is a symphonic tour-de-force, combining splendor with lighthearted brilliance, and is the perfect capstone for our 65th season of great music.

Friday, April 20, 2018, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

Saturday, April 21, 2018, 7:30pm
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto

Sunday, April 22, 2018, 3:00pm
St. John’s Presbyterian Church, Berkeley