Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Main Stage 2: Farewell To 2015

Sunday, January 3, 2016 @ 3:00pm - 5:00pm


Benjamin Simon, conductor
Franz Joseph Haydn Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat, Op. 84

Peter Lemberg, oboe
Karla Ekholm, bassoon
Eugene Chukhlov, violin
Eric Gaenslen, cello

J. S. Bach Concerto for Three Violins, BWV 1064R

Grace Huh, Sofie Ledor & Chili Ekman, violin

Aaron Copland Quiet City

Kathy Conner, English horn
John Freeman, trumpet

Franz Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 45 in F-sharp minor (“Farewell”)
4 virtuosic SFCO All-Stars are featured in Haydn’s brilliant Sinfonia Concertante for oboe, bassoon, violin, cello and orchestra.
3 splendid young violinists take center stage to perform Bach’s “Triple” Concerto.
2 noteworthy soloists (English horn and trumpet) lead our string section in Copland’s miniature masterpiece Quiet City.
1 outstanding chamber orchestra gradually vanishes in Haydn’s terrific and theatrical “Farewell” Symphony.

Classical masterpieces, unusual gems, and modern works offer a feast for your ears at every concert, while Maestro Simon’s engaging onstage talks help you connect more powerfully with the music.

Admission is free to all! Supporting members receive priority seating and priority entrance 60 minutes before concert time. Please bring your membership card with you. General seating begins 45 minutes before concert time.


Sunday, January 3, 2016
3:00pm - 5:00pm
Event Category:


Herbst Theatre
401 Van Ness Ave
San Francisco, CA 94102 United States
+ Google Map
Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.