Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Main Stage 4: Revolutionaries

Saturday, April 30, 2016 @ 7:30pm - 9:30pm


Benjamin Simon, conductor
Amy X Neuburg, vocals
with Squid Inc
Igor Stravinsky Suite No. 1 for Small Orchestra
Amy X Neuburg Hunger Strike (2016) [World Premiere] L. V. Beethoven Symphony 7 in A major, Op. 92
“Don’t miss the spectacular Amy X Neuburg. She’s the best thing to come out of Oakland since Jack London.” —John Adams, composer
Experience Amy X Neuburg’s “fabulous singing” and “exhilarating originality” in her newest work, Hunger Strike, commissioned by the SFCO for performance with Bay Area string quartet Squid Inc. Featuring vocals by the composer herself, Hunger Strike is paired with Stravinsky’s delightful Suite No. 1 for Small Orchestra, composed in 1925. Beethoven’s revolutionary Seventh Symphony was cutting edge in 1812, a brilliant experiment in sound and color that helped shape the future of classical music.

Classical masterpieces, unusual gems, and modern works offer a feast for your ears at every concert, while Maestro Simon’s engaging onstage talks help you connect more powerfully with the music.

Admission is free to all! Supporting members receive priority seating and priority entrance 60 minutes before concert time. Please bring your membership card with you. General seating begins 45 minutes before concert time.


Saturday, April 30, 2016
7:30pm - 9:30pm
Event Category:


First Palo Alto United Methodist Church
625 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301 United States
+ Google Map
Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.