Classical masterpieces, unusual gems, and modern works offer a feast for your ears at every concert, while Maestro Simon’s engaging onstage talks help you connect more powerfully with the music.

Admission is free to all! Supporting members receive priority seating and priority entrance 60 minutes before concert time. Please bring your membership card with you. General seating begins 45 minutes before concert time.

The SFCO’s admission-free season is made possible by the generosity of hundreds of supporting members and the following esteemed organizations:

Ann and Gordon Getty Foundation
The Bernard Osher Foundation
Grants for the Arts/San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund
Walter and Elise Haas Fund

Young Beethoven

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.1
Rin Homma, pianist (2017-2018 Debut Artist)

Beethoven: Symphony No.1

Drawn to Vienna, the musical capital of Europe, as an ambitious 21-year-old, Ludwig van Beethoven was determined to make his mark in the world. Standing on the shoulders of Haydn and Mozart, Beethoven, even in his earliest works, goes a step beyond them with revolutionary innovations that will usher in 19th-century Romanticism. His first symphony brims with excitement and vitality, while his Piano Concerto No. 1, written to highlight Beethoven’s own formidable pianistic skills, is an early masterpiece. “When you get the feeling that whatever note succeeds the last is the only possible note that can rightly happen at that instant, in that context,” according to Leonard Bernstein, “then chances are you’re listening to Beethoven.”

Saturday, December 30, 2017, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

Sunday, December 31, 2017, 7:30pm
Hertz Hall, Berkeley

Monday, January 1, 2018, 3:00pm
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto






Dvořák: Serenade in D minor

Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
Natalie Image, soprano

Brahms: Serenade No. 2 in A Major

Masterpieces by two great Romantics, Antonín Dvořák and Johannes Brahms, share the stage in a concert which focusses almost exclusively on our fabulous woodwinds. An homage to Mozart, Dvořák’s Serenade in D minor is filled with Slavonic rhythms and displays the composer’s gift for graceful melodies. Brahms’s Serenade No. 2 in A Major, written for an orchestra without violins, is a warm, gracious work colored by the darker hues of our lower strings and woodwinds. In contrast, Heitor Villa-Lobos’s Bachianas Brasileiras No.5 is scored for eight cellos and soprano, whose lush wordless vocalise floats hauntingly over our cello choir.

Friday, February 23, 2018, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

Saturday, February 24, 2018, 7:30pm
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto

Sunday, February 25, 2018, 3:00pm
St. John’s Presbyterian Church, Berkeley





The Virtuoso Orchestra

Gilbertson: Concerto for Chamber Orchestra (World Premiere)

Stamitz: Viola Concerto in D Major
Juan-Miguel Hernandez, viola

Haydn: Symphony No.104, “London”

We welcome the San Francisco Chamber Orchestra’s new Broadcast Music Foundation Composer-in-Residence, Michael Gilbertson, whose award-winning music has been described as “elegant” and “particularly beautiful” by the New York Times and “genuinely moving” by the Washington Post. His Concerto for Chamber Orchestra is the first of three commissioned works planned for Gilbertson’s three-year residency in San Francisco. Our season ends with Haydn’s final symphony, which premiered to great great acclaim in 1795 in London. It is a symphonic tour-de-force, combining splendor with lighthearted brilliance, and is the perfect capstone for our 65th season of great music.

Friday, April 20, 2018, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre, San Francisco

Saturday, April 21, 2018, 7:30pm
First United Methodist Church, Palo Alto

Sunday, April 22, 2018, 3:00pm
St. John’s Presbyterian Church, Berkeley





Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.